Sun. Dec 10th, 2023

Malaysian writer wins 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize
Malaysian author Tan Twang Eng has been named as the winner
of the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize for his English novel titled The
Garden of Evening Mists.

The novel was also listed in the 2012 Man Booker Prize’s final round.

The Garden of Evening Mists attracts readers by its simple but
sharp style of writing, said Maya Jaggi, head of the jury, at the award
ceremony in Hong Kong, China on March 14.

revisits the traumatic aftermath of the Japanese occupation of
Malaysia, and the post-war insurgency against British rule.

Tan Twang Eng is the first Malaysian author to win the prize.

He also won the 2007 Man Booker Prize for his maiden work named The Gift of Rain.

The Man Asian prize, launched in 2007, is awarded annually to an Asian
writer for a novel published in English or translated into English
during the previous calendar year.-VNA

By vivian