Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

Senior officials of Cambodia , Laos , Myanmar and Vietnam (CLMV) and
Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS)
discuss preparatory drafts to be submitted to the 6th CLMV and the 5th
ACMECS Summits, scheduled for March 12-13 in Laos ’s capital
Vientiane .

According to KPL, the meetings in
Vientiane on March 11 looked at future cooperation and reviewed the
outcomes of previous cooperation projects in the nine prioritised
frameworks of CLMV cooperation plans and eight cooperation frameworks of

They highly valued the progress in the
implementation of cooperation projects in human resources development,
road and rail connectivity, the opening and upgrading of international
border checkpoints and development projects funded by Japan and
other development partners.

Participants sought ways
to attract and mobilise investment and assistance from development
partners and business community to implement prioritised cooperation

They agreed that creating more favourable
conditions was needed to encourage the growth in trade, investment and
tourism by implementing a single window inspection mechanism at border
checkpoints among CLMV and reducing the development gap between them and
other ASEAN member countries to prepare for effective integration into
the ASEAN Economic Community by 2015.

CLMV are
currently focusing their cooperation on nine spheres including trade and
investment, agriculture, industry and energy, transport, information
communication technology, tourism, human resources development and

There are eight prioritised cooperation sectors for
ACMECS including trade and investment facilitation, agriculture,
industry and energy, transit transport, tourism, human resources
development, health and environment.

The Vientiane Declaration of the 5th ACMECS and ACMECS Action Plan for 2013-2015 are expected to be approved on this occasion.

was established in 2003 in Myanmar . It consists of Cambodia ,
Laos , Myanmar , Thailand and Vietnam.-VNA

By vivian